Aditya Tare stars as Mumbai lift third Vijay Hazare title
Mumbai won their third Vijay Hazare Trophy title beating Delhi by four wickets.

Mumbai recovered from a disastrous start to beat Delhi by four wickets in the final of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru to lift their third title.

Chasing 178, Mumbai were reduced to 40/4 by the Delhi pacers with Navdeep Saini taking three wickets including two in an over. However, Aditya Tare (71) and Siddesh Lad (48) built a century stand to put them on course as they eventually made 180/6 in 35 overs.

Prithvi Shaw began the chase in style hitting the first two deliveries of Mumbai innings for fours before being cleaned up by Saini off the third on 8. Saini then got rid of Ajinkya Rahane (4) and Suryakumar Yadav (4) in the space of four deliveries to raise Delhi’s hopes.

Kulwant Khejroliya then claimed the prized scalp of Shryeas Iyer (7) during a manic phase in which the Mumbai captain was dropped on 3 and Lad was caught off a no ball.

Tare and Lad then decided to counterattack. Saini was clattered for two fours by Tare in an over and Lad struck a four and a six off Khejroliya with Mumbai reaching 63/4 in 10 overs.

Steadily, the duo steered the chase forward, putting their team in firm control. Tare went on to score his sixth List A half-century before Manan Sharma ended his knock and partnership with Lad which was worth 105 runs. Lad fell short of his fifty after holing out near the boundary while aiming for a maximum to finish the chase with just two needed to win.

Delhi lost wickets regularly after Mumbai opted to field in Bengaluru. Tushar Deshpande drew the first blood with the big wicket of Gautam Gambhir (1) in the second over. Unmukt Chand (13) struck two fours before being caught by Rahane at point. Deshpande then removed Manan Sharma (5) to leave Delhi at 21/3 in six overs.

Dhruv Shorey and Nitish Rana tried riding the nervy phase, playing with caution. They had added 39 runs between them and seemed to have repaired some of the damage when Dubey (3/29) gave Mumbai a breakthrough with the scalp of Rana on 13.

Shorey made 41 before becoming the fifth wicket to fall as Delhi lost half of their side by the 25th over. A partnership was brewing between Himmat Singh (41) and Pawan Negi before the latter retired hurt on 21. From thereon, Delhi’s faint hopes of a respectable total went up in flames. Suboth Bathi struck a four and three sixes but Dhawal Kulkarni (3/30) pinned him in front on 25 to end Delhi’s misery.

Brief Scores: Mumbai 180/6 (Aditya Tare 71, Siddesh Lad 48; Navdeep Sainia 3/53) beat Delhi 177 (Himmat Singh 41; Shivam Dubey 3/29, Dhawal Kulkarni 3/30) by four wickets