Ajinkya Rahane scored his maiden fifty in India © AFP
Ajinkya Rahane scored his maiden Test fifty in India © AFP

India end Day One of the fourth Test on 231 for 7 against South Africa courtesy of a magnificent unbeaten 89 from Ajinkya Rahane. India will be happy with the way the day has ended as they have one set batsman still at the crease. Rahane will look to continue from where he left off on Day 1 and get to the three-figure mark. Ravichandran Ashwin has in the past proved that he is a handy batsman lower down the order and he will look to support Rahane and take India past 300. Dane Piedt has been the pick of the bowlers for South Africa, picking up 4 wickets. Kyle Abbott too has bowled magnificently well and has picked up 3 wickets as well. Live Cricket Scorecard: India vs South Africa 2015, 4th Test at Delhi

South Africa will look to wrap things early on Day 2 and hope that their batsmen get South Africa off to a good start. India got off to a good start with openers Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan. India lost Vijay ealy on for just 12. They were well placed at lunch but India lost Dhawan and Cheteshwar Pujara in quick succession. Rahane and Kohli out on 70 for the fourth wicket. But India lost Kohli through a freak dismissal for 44. Wriddhiman Saha and Rohit Sharma too went cheaply. Rohit was the worst one of them as he threw away his wicket after he was dropped just a few deliveries earlier. Live cricket updates: India vs South Africa 2015, 4th Test at Delhi

After the tea interval, Rahane found a good partner in Jadeja and the duo ensured that India went past the 200-run mark without any trouble. Rahane meanwhile was taking on the opposition. He was not afraid to put the bad deliveries away and was always on the lookout for runs. He now holds the key in ensuring that India get to a formidable total.

The South African bowlers have been on the money throughout the day. They will take positives from their efforts on Day 1 and look to continue on the same path on the second day as well.

Earlier, India had won the toss for the fourth continuous time in this series. India have made a change to their side as Amit Mishra misses out and Umesh Yadav has been included in his place. South Africa too have made a few changes. They have roped in Piedt, Kyle Abbott and Temba Bavuma in place of Rabada, Simon Harmer and Stiaan Van Zyl.

Brief scores:

India 231 for 7 (Virat Kohli 44, Ajinkya Rahane 89* ; Dane Piedt 4 for 101, Kyle Abbott 3 for 23) vs South Africa.

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery

(Pramod Ananth is a reporter at CricketCountry. He has represented Karnataka table tennis under-15, and is a hardcore supporter of Liverpool FC. His Twitter handle is @pramz)