Live Updates

  • 11:05 PM IST

    THAT’S IT! A comprehensive performance by Hyderabad. Shikhar Dhawan after being dropped for 0, has managed to take his side home. He was devastating during his knock of 77. Kane Williamson supported him well. He made 36 off 35 balls.

  • 10:48 PM IST

    Match Updates: Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson have just not let Rajasthan come back in the game. Dhawan has scored his 29th fifty in the competition. The pair have added 92 runs in just 62 balls.

  • 10:09 PM IST

    Match Updates: Shikhar Dhawan has just cut loose. He slammed Dhawal Kulkarni for a six and a four in his second over. Kane Williamson has been stranded at the other end.

  • 10:00 PM IST

    OUT! Wriddhiman Saha falls for 5. He was trying to go over the in-field but handed simple catch to Ben Laughlin. Jaydev Undakat is already into the wickets.

  • 9:56 PM IST

    Match Updates: Shikhar Dhawan has a new opening partner in Wriddhman Saha. YES, Saha and not Williamson. Rajasthan will need to bowl super tightly in order to defend a low total of 125. Dhawal Kulkarni has opened the bowling for Rajasthan. Dhawan was lucky to survive after Rahane dropped a catch at slip.

  • 9:38 PM IST

    Match Updates: Hyderabad need 126 to win. This has been a poor show by Rajasthan batsmen. From 48 for 1 in 6 overs, Rajasthan have managed just 125 runs. Sanju Samson top scored for them with 49.

  • 9:36 PM IST

    OUT! Rajasthan batsmen falling like nine pins. Jaydev Unadkat is run out for 1. Apart from Sanju Samson no other batsmen has got into any kind of groove.

  • 9:28 PM IST

  • 9:26 PM IST

    Match Updates: OUT! Jos Buttler falls for 6. Rashid Khan into his final over, does the trick. Buttler was unable to pick Rashid’s googly and gets his off stump castled courtesy a bottom edge.

  • 9:06 PM IST

    Match Updates: OUT! Sanju Samson departs at the wrong time for Rajasthan. Jos Buttler will be joined by Krishnappa Gowtham. This is Rashid’s Khan second smart catch of the match. Shakib Al Hasan gets a second wicket in his final over. Rahul Tripathi gave his wicket away in the same over for 17.

  • 8:44 PM IST

    Match Updates: OUT! Ben Stokes falls for 9. Kane Williamson does not make a mess of a simple catch. Billy Stanlake picks his first wicket. Rajasthan are in a bit of trouble, Sanju Samson is running out of partners .

  • 8:33 PM IST

  • 8:23 PM IST

    Match Updates: Ajinkya Rahane and Sanju Samson have kept the scorecard ticking with a boundary in between. This has been a steady start of Rajasthan. Hyderabad have Billy Stanlake and Shakib Al Hasan bowling in tandem.

  • 8:06 PM IST

    OUT! D’Arcy Short is found short of the crease. This was a needless run. Kane Williamson doesn’t miss much from that range. Ajinkya Rahane will be joined by Sanju Samson.

  • 8:01 PM IST

    Match Updates: Ajinkya Rahane and D’Arcy Short are out in the middle for Rajasthan. It will be interesting how Short adjusts to Indian conditions. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will open the bowling for Hyderabad.

  • 7:42 PM IST
    Hyderabad (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson(c), Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan, Wriddhiman Saha(wk), Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Billy Stanlake, Siddarth Kaul

    Rajasthan (Playing XI): Ajinkya Rahane(c), D Arcy Short, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Rahul Tripathi, Jos Buttler(wk), Krishnappa Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Ben Laughlin
  • 7:38 PM IST

  • 7:35 PM IST

    Kane Williamson: “We’ll bowl. Fairly new side from previous years but hopefully we start well with the ball in hand. (Our four overseas players are) Rashid Khan, Billy Stanlake, myself [chuckles] and Shakib”

  • 7:33 PM IST
    Ajinkya Rahane: We were looking to bowl as well. We have no control over the toss, so happy to bat first. We had some good prep back home. The guys are very excited about this game. Happy to bat first. Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, D’Arcy Short.
  • 7:31 PM IST

    TOSS: Kane Williamson wins toss, Hyderabad opt to bowl

  • 7:28 PM IST

    Pitch report: “Three pitches to be used over the course of the tournament, he says. Two of them rather hard, and perfect T20 tracks; one of them with a lot of grass (so much so that I didn’t realize it was a pitch) that is supposed to be shaved off.”

  • 7:25 PM IST

    Same goes for Ajinkya Rahane. He and Steven Smith posses completely different personality. While Smith is aggressive and very expressive on field Rahane is calm and composed. Both the teams are strong on paper. Who are you supporting today?

  • 7:22 PM IST

    Can Kane Williamson fill in the heavy boots of David Warner? Warner has contributed alot for Hyderabad with his captaincy and even with batting at the top-order. Are you excited for today’s game?

Hyderabad crowd would hope for Shikhar Dhawan to deliver © BCCI
Hyderabad crowd would hope for Shikhar Dhawan to deliver © BCCI

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Indian T20 League 2018. Match 4 of the tournament sees Ajinkya Rahane’s Royals take on Kane Williamson’s Hyderabad in their own den; Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. We will be bringing you the live updates, interesting tweets and stat facts from the cyberspace.

Rajasthan, despite being the visitors, would be confident with a head-to-head record (4:3) in their favour. The inaugural edition’s champions would hope for a fitting start to their campaign and depend upon the likes of Ben Stokes, Jaydev Unadkat, Jos Buttler, D’Arcy Short, Jofra Archer, Sanju Samson and Rahane to deliver the goods. On the other hand, Hyderabad have Shikhar Dhawan, Williamson, Alex Hales, Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Nabi and Chris Jordan to challenge any side. It should be a riveting contest at Hyderabad; wherein we have witnessed some high-scoring thrillers in the past.

Probable XI


Shikhar Dhawan, Alex Hales, Kane Williamson (c), Manish Pandey, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Chris Jordan.


Ajinkya Rahane (c), Rahul Tripathi, D’Arcy Short, Sanju Samson (wk), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Krishnappa Gowtham, Stuart Binny, Jaydev Unadkat, Jofra Archer.