Arindam Das scored an unbeaten 89 in the match © Getty Images (Representational photo)
Arindam Das scored an unbeaten 89 in the match © Getty Images (Representational photo)

Kolkata: Oct 26, 2014

Arindam Das struck an unbeaten 84 while Manoj Tiwary played a crucial 40-run knock to steer Bengal to a comfortable six-wicket win over Karnataka in the opening match of the CAB S K Acharya Memorial Trophy one-day tournament, here today.

Put into bat, Karnataka batsmen struggled on the seaming wicket of JU second campus ground in Salt Lake as they were bowled out for 181 in 43.5 overs with Bengal pacer Veer Pratap Singh taking two wickets for 29 run in his seven overs.

It was then left for the Bengal spin duo of Iresh Saxena and Saurasish Lahiri to run through the Karnataka line-up with three wickets each.

Bengal hardly had any difficulty with Das playing the sheet anchor role in his 113-ball 84 not out with seven boundaries but it was Tiwary who sizzled in the gloomy day with his quickfire 40 studded with one four and one six.

After Tiwary’s dismissal, wicketkeeper batsman Shreevats Goswami (33 not out from 47 balls) extended Das a fine support to see Bengal through with 9.3 overs to spare.

Brief Scores:

KSCA 181 in 43.5 overs (Shishir Bhavane 39; Iresh Saxena 3 for 29, Saurasish Lahiri 3 for 47) lost to CAB 185/4 in 40.3 overs (Arindam Das 84*, Manoj Tiwary 40, Shreevats Goswami 33*) by 6 wickets