Australia drop Stoinis from T20I squad, recall Stanlake and McDermott
Marcus Stoinis (left) and David Warner (AFP Photo)

Australia have recalled fast bowler Billy Stanlake and top-order batsman Ben McDermott while dropped allrounder Marcus Stoinis in a 14-man squad for the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Stoinis endured a poor world cup in England, managing 87 runs in seven innings while struggling with multiple injuries as Australia exited in the semi-finals. However, he was a standout performer in the Big Bash League, scoring 533 runs at a strike-rate of 130.63 and took 14 wickets.

Steve Smith and David Warner have also returned in T20I fold as has spinner Ashton Agar.

“It is almost a year to the day until Australia hosts the men’s Twenty20 World Cup and we have selected this squad with that in mind,” Australia selector Trevor Hohns said in a statement. “We have looked to put a squad together that we think can take us through to that tournament. The squad we have selected is quite role specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions.”

“In terms of batsmen, we have selected top and middle-order specialists. The likes of Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Ashton Turner and Carey provide us excellent options through the middle-order after Finch, Warner and Smith,” Hohns said.

Adam Zampa and Agar are the two specialist spinners with Nathan Lyon overlooked who has been battling an ankle issue. “In terms of spinners, we feel like the all-round package Ashton Agar possesses is irresistible at the moment and Adam Zampa has proven to be a very good T20 bowler in all conditions,”Hohns explained.

Pace attack will be spearheaded by Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc with Stanlake, Richardson and Andrew Tye in the support cast. “We’re also confident in the potency and flexibility of our fast bowling group. Mitchell Starc gives us a left-arm option and has earned a reputation as one of the world’s leading quicks at the top of the innings and at the death. Pat Cummins is a world-class right-arm option and has been in superb form of late. Andrew Tye is a wicket-taking proposition, Billy Stanlake has the X-factor and Kane Richardson has been an excellent short-form player for some time now,” Hohns said.

Full Squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa