Australia-India council ends Border-Gavaskar scholarship

Players like Mohd Kaif (c), Shiv Sundar Das (second from left) had benefited by the Border-Gavaskar Trophy Getty Images

Mumbai: Jun 23, 2011

After the sponsors of the annual Border-Gavaskar Scholarship pulled-out, the Australia-India Council (AIC) has put an end to the annual visit of young Indian cricketers to the Australian Centre of Excellence in Brisbane after a decade of its existence.

Although the Indian Cricket Board was not directly involved in the scheme, the BCCI used to nominate three young cricketers for the annual training stint in Australia, said Board’s Chief Administrative Officer, Prof Ratnakar Shetty.

“Neither the Indian board nor Cricket Australia were directly involved in the scholarship named after (Sunil) Gavaskar and (Allan) Border. It was sponsored by the Australia-India Council. They have now pulled out and the scholarship has been discontinued,” Shetty told PTI.

Every year three young Indian cricketers used to visit Brisbane.

Players like Mohd Kaif, Shiv Sunder Das, Gautam Gambhir, Laxmipathy Balaji, Suresh Raina, R P Singh, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Abhinav Mukund had all benefitted from the scheme and went on to play Test cricket for India.

The scholarship commenced in 2000 and continued till last year.