×

Australia vs England, ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: ICC admits umpiring error in England’s final wicket

Anderson's dismissal after a leg before wicket appeal on Taylor was overturned by the video umpire.

user-circle cricketcountry.com Written by Agence France-Presse
Published: Feb 14, 2015, 06:58 PM (IST)
Edited: Feb 14, 2015, 10:31 PM (IST)

James Taylor was stranded 98 © Getty Images
James Taylor was stranded 98 when James Anderson was dismissed © Getty Images

Melbourne: The International Cricket Council (ICC) said the match umpires had made a mistake after reviewing England‘s final dismissal in the ICC World Cup 2015  match against Australia on Saturday which potentially cost James Taylor a century. India vs Pakistan Live Score

While England were well beaten by 111 runs at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, there was some debate about whether the final dismissal should have been termed a “dead ball” and as a consequence James Anderson should not have been given run out.  ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: POINTS TABLE

Anderson’s dismissal after a leg before wicket appeal on Taylor was overturned by the video umpire, meant that Taylor lost his opportunity to score a century as he was left stranded on 98. The Australians had appealed for a run out on Anderson at the non-striker’s end as he scampered back to regain his ground and umpire Kumar Dharmasena made a referral to the third umpire, who gave Anderson out. ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: SCHEDULE & MATCH DETAILS

The ICC released a statement after the match, which read: “Following Australia’s 111-run victory over England in the Group A ICC Cricket World Cup clash at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday night, the Playing Control Team (PCT) met and reviewed the final ball of the game which resulted in James Anderson being given run out. ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Complete Coverage

“Article 3.6a of Appendix 6 of the Decision Review System (DRS) Playing Conditions states that the ball should have been deemed dead when the batsman (James Taylor) was given out leg before wicket (lbw). No further runs or dismissals were possible.

TRENDING NOW

“The PCT spoke to the England team management and acknowledges that the game ended incorrectly and an error was made.”