Bangladesh bat against in 2nd Test against New Zealand at Dhaka; Al-Amin Hossain to debut

Sohag Gazi scored 101 in the first Test against New Zealand at Chittagong © AFP

Oct 21, 2013

Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim has won the toss and elected to bat against New Zealand in the second Test at Dhaka on Monday.

Al-Amin Hossain makes his debut in place of injured Robiul Islam. Neil Wagner comes in place of left-arm spinner Bruce Martin for the visitors.

Bangladesh took a slender lead of 32 in the first Test which was a huge positive. The all-round performance of Sohag Gazi stood out. He scored a century, took a six-for and became the second Bangladeshi bowler to take a hat-trick.

This is a great opportunity for Bangladesh to record a rare series win.


Bangladesh: Tamin Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Marshall Ayub, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (c&wk), Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain.

New Zealand: Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Brendon McCullum (c), Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, BJ Watling (wk), Doug Bracewell, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the second Test match at Dhaka between Bangladesh and New Zealand