Bangladesh have not been impressive in their away tours    Getty Images
Bangladesh have not been impressive in their away tours Getty Images

A new era for Bangladesh is set to begin with the tri-series against Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe without their coach Chandika Hathurusingha. It will be followed with 2-match Test series against Sri Lanka. It will be new assignment for Hathurusingha as well with Sri Lanka. For the home season, BCB have announced 32-member primary squad. The squad comprises of some young and experienced bunch of players. The young players have been picked based on their performance in BPL and NCL.

Bangladesh had an excellent year at home in 2017. However, they stumbled in the away series. BCB Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin is confident that Bangladesh will come around and perform well in the tri-series. We decided to include all possible options available to us for the upcoming home series. It will be challenging for us as we have to meet up the expectations of the home crowd while the duration will also have some kind of impact considering they have played non-stop cricket for quite some time in the recent past. So we need to keep all the alternatives ready, not only so that they can fill the gap if required but also because they can put some pressure on the current player as well, Abedit told Cricbuzz.

The selectors are impressed by two bowlers in particular young Mehedi Hasan and Nazmul Islam Apu. Islam Apu has an excellent domestic record, picking 131 wickets from 49 First-Class matches at 30.63 and 70 wickets from 58 List A matches. It is true we could not include some players who were performing regularly in the domestic circuit (in the past) as there was hardly any place for them against the proven performers. But we decided to come out of this theory. The performance of Anamul in NCL surely made us think while it is the same with some other names who had performing consistently, Abedin added.

As for a new coach, Bangladesh for now would either stick with Khaled Mahmud or Richard Halsall as interim coach.

Primary Squad: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Anamul Haque, Nazmul Islam Apu, Mominul Haque, Sadman Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam, Abu Haidar, Abu Jahed, Subashis Roy, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Kamrul Islam, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Nazmul Islam Shanto, Sunzamul Islam, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin