Bangladesh had defeated Afghanistan by four wickets in the last game of the group stage. Bangladesh Cricket Board

08.38: The joy is short-lived. The match is called off without a ball being bowled. Bangladesh and Afghanistan will share the trophy.

08.20 PM: Some good news for the fans. The rain has stopped.

Hosts Bangladesh will take on Afghanistan in the Bangladesh Tri-Nation T20I series final at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Tuesday.

While Afghanistan registered two successive in their first two matches, their last two encounters have ended in defeats. Bangladesh, meanwhile, will be coming into this final on the back of a convincing four-wicket win over Afghanistan in the last group-stage game.

Although, earlier in the tournament, Afghanistan completed a 12-match winning streak, a record in the shortest format of the game, they will be sweating over their skipper Rashid Khan’s fitness. The allrounder sustained a hamstring injury during the previous match against Bangladesh.

I can t say anything right now, Rashid said on Monday when asked about his chances of playing in the final. I had some work on my hamstring yesterday and today. We will decide tomorrow.”

The main reason to come back to bowl was that I wanted to know the severity of the injury, he said. The physio and coaches didn t want me to bowl. I was ok with the first two overs, but after going for a run it got worse. I think I shouldn t have bowled, but when the team needs you, you have to be there. We give our all for the country,” he added.

Below are the details of how you can watch and follow the contest live

What: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan: Bangladesh Tri-Nation T20I series final

When: September 24 (Tuesday)

Where: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

Time: 6 pm IST

On TV: Star Sports network

Live streaming: Hotstar

Live Commentary: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan


Bangladesh: Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Aminul Islam, Mohammad Naim, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Hazratullah Zazai, Asghar Afghan, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Shafiqullah Shafiq, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan (captain), Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najeeb Tarakai, Fazal Niazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Shahidullah Kamal, Fareed Malik, Dawlat Zadran