CAG and Chemplast have an all-win record prior to their final © Getty Images


Mumbai: Feb 21, 2014


Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) have a chance to avenge their defeat to Chemplast in 2013 when they clash with the defending champions in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Corporate Trophy final at the Wankhede Stadium on Saturday.


CAG had lost to their southern rivals in the semi final stage in 2013 and thus have a golden chance to turn the tables on Chemplast after both teams entered the summit clash with an all-win record (3 in group stage and in the semi final).


CAG overwhelmed Madras Rubber Factory (MRF) and State Bank of Travancore (SBT) in their first two Group B league games held at Nagpur and then edged past Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) in the last pool game before shocking 2013 finalists India Cements in the semi final held at the Mumbai Cricket Association’s (MCA) Bandra Kurla Complex (BKC) ground.


CAG have exhibited good batting abilities as well as some penetrative seam bowling through Rituraj Singh, Shrikant Wagh, S Sanandya and captain Imtiaz Ahmed.


Chemplast have also had an impressive run in the league stage (Group A) held in Ahmedabad, scoring identical five-wicket victories over Andhra Bank (AB) and Indian Oil (IO) followed by a thumping 82-run win over Indian Income Tax to complete their pool engagements.


They were in danger of being dumped out in the semis by Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) before rallying from a difficult situation to overhaul the challenging 259-run target set by the oilmen on Thursday with two wickets to spare in the semi final at Ahmedabad’s Motera Stadium.


C Hemanth Kumar and V Ashwin came to their rescue and bailed the holders out when they looked down the barrel at 156 for 6 against BPCL.


Chemplast have a good medium pace attack comprising Sandeep Sharma, R Suthesh and P Parameswaran that is capable of utilising well the bounce offered by the Wankhede track, backed up by the leg spin of Piyush Chawla.


Saturday’s winners are set to receive Rs 1 crore while the losers would take home Rs 50 lakh from the championship held in memory of the late Raj Singh Dungarpur.