Ranji Trophy 2018-19
Vidarbha won a second successive Ranji title (PTI Photo)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India conducted a record 2024 matches across age-groups during the 2018-19 domestic season. The number is significantly higher than of 1108 matches during the previous season.

There’s an increase of 916 matches compared to the 2017-18 season.

Eight new teams including Pondicherry, Uttarakhand, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram were added to the domestic setup while Bihar also returned to the fold after a gap of 18 years.

The matches were played into five formats – three-days, four days, five days [Multi Day], One Day and T20.

With 883 matches, One Day was the most played format followed by T20 (553), four-day (469), three-day (86) and five-day (9).

The matches were organised across 155 cities with the season lasting 254 days while accommodated 3444 match days.

As per a report on BCCI’s official website, the board received “as many as 6927 registrations” with “over 4600 players” featuring in Playing XI.