BCCI COA members Vinod Rai (R) Diana Edulji (L) and banker Vikram Limaye (C)    AFP
BCCI COA members (from left) Diana Edulji, Vikram Limaye and Vinod Rai AFP

These are interesting times for Indian cricket. The national side finds itself in the pink of health, but those in the same realm albeit in different operations and responsibilities find themselves hanging by a thread. One of the recommendations made by the Justice RM Lodha Committee was to cut short the voting rights to the several members of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), effectively to put in place what they called one-state one-vote policy. While this particular suggestion threw the spotlight on those who did not have any voting rights, but at the same time, it made lives miserable for several cricketing powerhouses residing on the Western part of India, specifically in Maharashtra and Gujarat. BCCI warns use of MPA right if revenue model not reconsidered by ICC

While both Maharashtra and Gujarat had their cricket governing bodies Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) and Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA) there are other powerhouses in Mumbai, Baroda, Saurashtra and Nagpur. Of all these, the 41-times Ranji Trophy winner Mumbai has the biggest clout, and if the latest constitution uploaded on the BCCI website is to be believed, one of the most successful cricketing centres is not left with a voting right in the national governing body.

To understand the matter clearly, the BCCI has released a list of 30 associations that will not only function as the controlling centers of cricket in India, but will also have the voting rights. These 30 associations will be known as Full Members , whereas those outside the list will be known as the Associate Members .

The amended constitution informs that the membership of multiple associations within a state will be rotated annually, and at no time a state will consist of more than one Full Member . It must be remembered that Mumbai, Nagpur, Saurashtra and Baroda will be there in the BCCI realm, but as Associate Members , they will have no voting rights. The cricket associations of Maharashtra and Gujarat have been included as Full Members . BCCI CEO shoots down request for early release of IPL funds


Nagaland, Mizoram, Sikkim, Bihar, Arunachal Pradesh, Telangana (erstwhile Hyderabad), Uttarakhand, Meghalaya and Manipur are the new Full Members according to the altered BCCI constitution.


The Mumbai-based Cricket Club of India (CCI) and National Cricket Club have joined Mumbai, Nagpur, Saurashtra and Baroda as the Associate Members . This list also includes Services, Railways and Universities.


Complete list of 30 associations who will be Full Members of the BCCI as per the latest constitution:

Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Tripura and West Bengal.


Each State shall be represented by a state cricket association duly recognised by the BCCI and such associations shall be Full Members. No State shall have more than one Full Member at any given point of time, according to the altered constitution.

In States with multiple Existing Members, the full membership shall rotate annually among such Existing Members such that only one of them will exercise the rights and privileges of a Full Member at any given point of time. The rotation shall be as per the policy framed by the BCCI.

While the latest BCCI constitution takes the voting rights away from powerhouses such as Mumbai and others, it grants the same to a few centers in the North East India, where the sport is not as popular as it is elsewhere.

Meanwhile, former India Team Director and commentator Ravi Shastri has criticised BCCI’s new constitution. He told the Times of India, “It’s a joke. I feel sad that the glorious history, tradition and contribution of the association to Indian cricket went unnoticed.