(Representational picture) © Getty Images
Big Bash League will be played till January 24, 2016 (Representational picture) © Getty Images

Hyderabad: The city police on Sunday claimed to have busted a cricket betting racket with the arrest of six persons. The bets were being placed on the Big Bash League (BBL) in Australia. The sleuths of Commissioner’s Task Force (West Zone) nabbed bookies Mukesh Sharma alias Pappu, Mohd Azar and Prashanth Sharma while allegedly accepting bets on cellphone on a match between Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder during the ongoing Big Bash League in Australia. Police also arrested Asifullah Khan, a “punter”, and Hemanth Mishra and Mahesh Taneji Rao who worked at the betting establishment, and seized a TV, three hotline boxes, 18 cellphones and Rs 20,000 cash, a police release said. READ: Angela Reakes suspended for placing Aus $9 bet during ICC World Cup 2015 final

They were handed over to Bahadurpura police station for further probe. The BBL started on December 17, 2015 and will reach its climax when the final is played on January 24, 2016. The tournament has witnessed 19 matches so far and there are a further 18 matches left in the tournament. Perth Scorchers currently lead the table with six points in their four matches, with Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers occupying the second and third spots. At the bottom of the table lie Melbourne Heat and above them are Melbourne Renegades with two points apiece. READ: Cricket betting needs government measures to be controlled, says SIT

Australian batsman Chris Lynn is the leading run-scorer in the tournament this year so far with 287 runs in five matches, followed by Michael Hussey with 223 runs. Clint Mckay with nine wickets is the leading wicket-taker in the tournament. Andre Russell too has nine scalps to his name, but Mckay has a better average and hence is on top of the chart.