BPL 2019: David Warner, Sandeep Lamichhane sign for Sylhet Sixers
David Warner will play for Sylhet Sixers in the BPL. @Getty

Banned Australia batsman David Warner has announced Friday that he will play for Sylhet Sixers in the Bangladesh Premie League next year, making it the third T20 franchise he will have played for since being handed a 12-month suspension in March for his role in the ball-tampering scandal.

Warner revealed the news the franchise s Facebook page, saying in a video: “I m very excited to let you know that I’m now a Sixer. I can t wait to be a part of the Sylhet Sixers family. See you soon!”

Barred from playing for his state New South Wales and in the Big Bash League, Warner played in the Global T20 Canada tournament and the Caribbean Premier League over the past few months. His ban, as well as that of former Australia captain Steve Smith, will conclude at the end of March 2019.

Speaking to Cricbuzz, Sixers CEO Yasir Obaid welcomed Warner s inclusion to the BPL and also confirmed that Nepal legspinner Sandeep Lamichhane would join the franchise as the second overseas player.

”We believe he is a player of great impact especially when it comes to T20 cricket. He is a player with wealth of experience when it comes to handling the pressure of Twenty20 cricket and we are excited to have him in our dressing room,” he said.

Lamichhane signed with Melbourne Stars this week as part of the upcoming BBL. The BPL runs from January 5 to February 8.