Mumbai won by six wickets © Getty Images

Opener Akhil Herwadkar and captain Aditya Tare shone with the bat as Mumbai beat TNCA Districts XI by six wickets and clinched the Buchi Babu Memorial Trophy in the All India invitation cricket tournament here today. Herwadkar (108) and Tare (53) added 98 runs to help Mumbai score 166 for four in 45.2 overs against TNCA Districts, who made 163 all out in 74 overs yesterday in the annual tournament conducted as a season’s opener by the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association. Resuming at the overnight score of 40 without loss in 20 overs, Herwadkar and Tare held on gamely for 14.3 overs this morning making another 58 runs between them before off-spinner Sakthi clean bowled the former for 46. READ: Mumbai on top against TNCA Districts XI in Buchi Babu trophy final

Mumbai were one for 98 in 34.3 overs and soon in three overs later, Tare too was out caught at point by Talaivar Sargunam of medium pacer Abhishek Tanwar for 53 (110b, 7×4). Abhishek Nayar (12) did not stay longer as he stepped out to Sakthi for a big hit but ended up landing a straightforward catch at long off to Anand Subramanian. Mumbai’s Surya Kumar Yadav, who was later adjudged as the Man of the Series, and Nikhil Patel added 37 runs for the fourth wicket. Yadav, who played aggressively going after the spinners, was caught at slip by substitute Shijith Chandran (for N S Chaturvedi) of Sakthi for 31. Nikhil Patel (15 not out) and Shrideep Mangela (4 not out) then scored the required runs. ALSO READ: Shahrukh Khan scores a hundred!

Brief Scores:

TNCA Districts XI 163 in 74 Overs (N S Chaturved 60; Vishal Dabolkar 6 for 46) lost to Mumbai 166 for 4 in 45.2 overs (Akhil Herwadkar 46, Aditya Tare 53; Sakthi 3 for 76) by 6 wickets.