CAB to sell India-West Indies Test season ticket for Rs. 500

The tickets will be availabe at Rs 500, 1,000 and 1,500 for India’s matches at the Eden Gardens Getty Images

Kolkata: Oct 1, 2011

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) decided to sell tickets at a reasonably low price of Rs 500 onwards for a season ticket in India’s upcoming Test match against the West Indies in November.

At its working committee meeting also attended by Sourav Ganguly, it was decided to have tickets in three denominations – Rs 500, 1,000 and 1,500 – for the three upcoming matches of ODI, T20 and a Test in a move to draw packed house in the cricket-packed calendar.

“These ticket prices will be valid for the ODI and T20 against England this month and a Test against the West Indies,” Dalmiya said today.

The working committee also decided upon former Bengal captain Deep Dasgupta to head the senior selection committee.

Dasgupta will head a four-member committee which will also have Malay Banerjee, Mintu Das and Satinder Singh.

Hailing the move, Ganguly said Dasgupta was the right choice.

“He has been a player in the recent times having a good knowledge of cricket. I hope Bengal cricket will benefit from his service,” Ganguly said.

The former India captain, who represented Barisha Athletic Club, also suggested that Bengal should have a head of the coaches to monitor the progress in all age groups.

Sri Lankan World Cup winning coach Dav Whatmore appears to be the frontrunner but it all depends on his availability, said a CAB official.

Among other suggestions, Ganguly suggested that the first divison league be made a three-day format from the existing two-day from quarter-final stage.

The left-hander also suggested CAB to appoint specialist coaches for it’s newly-opened academy in Kalyani.

Madan Ghosh will chair the junior selection committee, while Sandhya Majumdar will head the women’s selection committee.

Senior Selection Committee: Deep Dasgupta (chairman), Malay Banerjee, Mintu Das and Satinder Singh.

Junior Selection Committee: Madan Ghosh (chairman), Ajay Verma, Jaidip Mukherjee and Hamza Firoji.

Women’s selection Committee: Sandhya Majumdar (chairman), Pratima Chakraborty, Runa Bose and Shyama Shaw. (PTI)