Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings are the defending champions (AFP Photo)

Chennai and Hyderabad will reportedly be the two venues for the ongoing season of Indian Premier League (IPL) which concludes on May 12.

While the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is yet to come up with an official announcement, a report in Mumbai Mirror claims that tentatively the two southern cities will be play hosts to this year’s IPL knockouts.

While the first qualifier will be played at M Chidambaram Stadium (Chennai), the Eliminator and second qualifier will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium (Hyderabad), as per a report in the Mumbai Mirror.

The BCCI has released the schedule of the annual T20 league in multiple phases owing to the general elections in India. So far, the board has confirmed the schedule of the league matches which end on May 5 and is yet to make an official announcement regarding the playoffs.

Chennai will host the final, as has been the case over the year with the honour going to the defending champions.

The report further added that the tentative dates would be May 7 (Qualifier 1), May 9 (Eliminator) and Qualifier 2 (May 10).

IPL, which generally begins in the month of April, began on March 23 because of the elections. There were also speculations of the tournament being conducted in parts outside India or in entirety as was the case in 2009 (in South Africa) and 2014 (jointly UAE and India).