MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings made it to their eighth Indian Premier League (IPL) final and will face Mumbai Indians (MI) in the summit clash. @PTI

Three-time Indian Premier League (IPL) champions, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) made it to their eighth final in the league and now face Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians (MI) in the summit clash.

While MS Dhoni and Co stuttered in the Qualifier 1 as MI registered an easy win, the defending champions upped their game and beat Delhi Capitals (DC) in Qualifier 2 to seal their place in the final.

Here we look at how the made it to the final

Hat-trick of wins:

A below-par pitch for the Royal Challengers Bangalore did not go down well with MS Dhoni but that did not stop CSK from beginning their campaign with a win. The defending champions followed that up with two more wins as they beat DC by six wickets and then edged out Rajasthan Royals (RR) after MS Dhoni s whirlwind 46-ball 75-run knock set up their eight-run win.

MI stop CSK juggernaut:

The first El Cl sico of the season halted CSK s winning run as Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians handed Dhoni and Co a 37-run defeat at the Wankhede Stadium. Batting first, Suryakumar Yadav s 59 and late blitz from Pandya brothers and Kieron Pollard guided MI to 170 and Jason Behrendorff, Lasith Malinga and Hardik shared eight wickets among themselves to seal MI s win.

Four wins on the bounce:

Two wins at home against Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and two away from home against RR and KKR following a defeat against MI helped CSK secure seven wins from their first eights games of the IPL 2019.

Two defeats on the trot:

After bowlers restricted CSK to 132/5, David Warner and Jonny Bairstow overpowered CSK bowlers as Sunrisers Hyderabad registered a clinical six-wicket win to halt CSK s march. Then, came RCB, who had their share of struggles in the tournament. The Virat Kohli-led unit escaped the Dhoni onslaught of Umesh Yadav and handed CSK their second defeat on the trot.

CSK avoid hat-trick of defeats:

While Warner came good once again and Manish Pandey scored an unbeaten 83, Shane Watson’s 53-ball 96-run innings powered CSK to their eighth win of the season. The win also helped CSK to avoid a hat-trick of wins.

CSK lose their second game of season against MI:

Having lost against MI away from home, CSK had their chance to settle the scores playing at home. However, with Dhoni not being a part of the playing XI, CSK came a cropper as Lasith Malinga’s four-wicket haul helped MI register a comfortable 46-run win.

Last two games of the league stage:

CSK ended the last two matches with a win and a defeat. While the spinners ran riot as Dhoni and Co outplayed DC for the second time of the season, they lost against KXIP in the final game of the league stage but managed to finish in the top two at the conclusion of the league stage.

CSK 0 – 3 MI:

MI continued their dominance over CSK as the Mumbai-based franchise handed a six-wicket defeat to Dhoni and Co in the Qualifier 1 to make it to the IPL 2019 final. After the bowlers restricted CSK to 131/4, Suryakumar’s unbeaten 71 meant MI, who topped the points table after the league stage, became the first team to make it to the final.

CSK tame DC to set up MI showdown:

Having finished in the top offered CSK one more chance to reach the finals and the defending champions cashed in and denied their DC their maiden IPL final appearance. The bowlers came to the party as CSK restricted DC to 147/9 and the duo of Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson scored half-centuries as CSK marched into their eighth IPL final.