Chougule's unbeaten fifty inspires Jharkhand win in Vijay Hazare Trophy tie

Deepak Chougule scored unbeaten 55 runs off 54 balls to help defending champions Jharkhand beat Tripura Getty Images

Kolkata: February 22, 2012

Defending champions Jharkhand rode an unbeaten half-century by Deepak Chougule to script a three-wicket win over Tripura in their East Zone leg one-dayer of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at Jadavpur University ground (second campus) in Salt Lake, on Wednesday.

Opting to bowl, Jharkhand restricted minnows Tripura to 236 for nine in the stipulated 50 overs with Rahul Shukla, Yaju Krishanatry and Jaskaran Singh.

Opener Samrat Singha (66 from 104 balls, 5×4) was Tripura’s top scorer while Nirupam Sen Chowdhury provided the support with a 77-ball 50 (4×4).

Tripura had Jharkhand at 44 for 3 when their skipper Saurabh Tiwary was dismissed cheaply for 10.

Jharkhand however did not give up with a defiant 63 (76 balls, 10×4) from Ishank Jaggi while Deepak Chougule ensured victory with an entertaining 54-ball 55 (6×4). (PTI)

Brief Scores: Tripura 236 for 9; 50 overs (Samrat Singha 66, Nirupam Sen Chowdhary 50; Rahul Shukla 2 for 40, Yajuvendra Krishanatry 2 for 53, Jaskaran Singh 2 for 34) lost to Jharkhand 238 for 7; 49.2 overs (Ishank Jaggi 63, Deepak Chougule 55 not out; Rana Dutta 4 for 47) by 3 wickets.

Points: Jharkhand 4, Tripura 0.