Suranga Lakmal was the pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka © Getty Images (File Photo)
Suranga Lakmal was the pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka © Getty Images (File Photo)

Sri Lanka ease past Ireland in the second One-Day International (ODI) by 136 runs at Dublin. Sri Lanka with this win have wrapped up the two-match series 2-0. Their bowlers put up a clinical performance once again with everyone chipping in with wickets. Andy McBrine scored a fifty, but in vain, but his innings ensured that Ireland got past the 200-run mark. Sri Lankan batsmen led by a ton by Kusal Perera helped put a mammoth total of 377 runs on the board and never let go of their firm grip throughout. Ireland batsmen offered very little resistance. With their top-order failing to deliver, there was a lot f pressure on the middle and the lower middle-order. Sri Lanka with this win will take their confidence into the ODI series against England, which begins in a few days time. Full Cricket Scorecard: Ireland vs Sri Lanka, 2nd ODI at Dublin

Perera and Gunathilaka got Sri lanka off to a good start. They put on 147 for the first wicket and got Sri Lanka off to a perfect start. Seekkuge Prasanna walked in at N0. 3 to everyone’s surprise and smashed the ball around right from the first ball. He scored a 46-ball 95, with as many as 9 sixes and five hits to the boundary. Prasanna and Perera added 161 runs for the second wicket and Sri Lanka were cruising at 308 for 2 in the 42nd over. IRE vs SL 2016, Full Cricket Updates, 2nd ODI at Dublin

Ireland managed to pick up a few more wickets after that but Sri Lanka were well on course to get a huge score on the board, which is exactly what they did. Sri Lanka went into the match already leading 1-0 and have now completed a clean sweep. The final wicket pair of McBrine and Boyd Rankin added 54 for the final wicket, that was never going to be enough.

It was Ireland, who had won the toss and elected to bowl first. Thomas Sorensen was dropped for today’s match and was replaced by Andy McBrine. Sri Lanka on the other hand welcomed Suranga Lakmal and Farveez Maharoof in place of Nuwan Pradeep and Dhananjaya de Silva.

Brief Scores:

Sri Lanka 377 for 8 in 50 Overs (Kusal Perera 135, Seekkuge Prasana 95; Tim Murtagh 3 for 66, Barry McCarthy 2 for 52) beat Ireland 241 in 45 Overs ( Stuart Poynter 36, Andy McBrine 79; Suranga Lakmal 4 for 38, Seekkuge Prasanna 2 for 32) by 136 runs

Player of the series: Dasun Shanaka

Full Scorecard