Cricket World Cup 2019: Jofra Archer, Liam Dawson and James Vince in England’s final 15-member World Cup squad; David Willey, Joe Denly miss out

Left-arm spinner Liam Dawson and all-rounder Jofra Archer have been named in England‘s 15-member final World Cup squad led by Eoin Morgan with pacer David Willey and allrounder Joe Denly missing out.

Both Dawson and Archer were not named in the preliminary squad named by England last month. Willey and Joe, who were named in that squad are the unlucky duo to miss out with both not able to put up substantial performances in England’s 0-4 rout of Pakistan in the recently concluded ODIs series.

Opener Alex Hales, who was withdrawn from the preliminary squad after being sanctioned under the ECBs disciplinary policy for a second time for an off-field incident involving recreational drug use, has been replaced by James Vince.


Dawson’s inclusion comes on the back good showing in England’s on-going domestic 50-over tournament in which he has so far took 18 wickets and scored 271 runs in nine matches for Hampshire. Archer, who was one of the standby players for the England’s World Cup squad along with Chris Jordan made a strong case in the ODIs against Pakistan and Ireland.

ENGLAND SQUAD: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

England’s World Cup fixtures:

Match 1: England vs South Africa, 30 May 2019 (Thursday), 3 pm IST, The Oval, London

Match 2: England vs Pakistan, 3 June 2019 (Monday), 3 pm IST, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

Match 3: England vs Bangladesh, 8 June 2019 (Saturday), 3 pm IST, Cardiff Wales Stadium

Match 4: England vs West Indies, 14 June 2019 (Friday), 3 pm IST, Hampshire Bowl, Southampton

Match 5: England vs Afghanistan, 18 June 2019 (Tueday), 3 pm IST, Old Trafford, Manchester

Match 6: England vs Sri Lanka, 21 June 2019 (Friday), 3 pm IST, Headingley, Leeds

Match 7: England vs Australia, 25 June 2019 (Tuesday), 3 pm IST, Lord’s, London

Match 8: England vs India, 30 June 2019 (Sunday), 3 pm IST, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Match 9: England vs New Zealand, 3 July 2019 (Wednesday), 3 pm IST, The Riverside Durham, Chester-le-Street