David Warner

David Warner in action during the first T20 at SCG against Sri Lanka © Getty Images

Sydney: Jan 26, 2013

David Warner remained unbeaten on 90 as Australia set a 138-run target against Sri Lanka in the first Twenty20 International at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Saturday.

Electing to bat first, Australia scored 137 in their allotted 20 overs, losing three wickets.

Warner struck three sixes and five boundaries to score a quickfire 90 not out, which came from 62 balls.

Nuwan Kulasekara continued his good form with the ball, taking 1-21 off his four overs.

Australia’s middle-order failed against a disciplined Sri Lanka bowling attack, as Aaron Finch and skipper George Bailey failed to make a mark, scoring one and 11 respectively.

Towards the end, Adam Voges scored 29-ball 25 not out to help Australia push for a big total.

Earlier, Australia captain George Bailey won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in the first T20.

Brief Scores: Australia 137 for 3 in 20 overs (David Warner 90*, Adam Voges 25*; Nuwan Kulasekara 1 for 21, Thisara Perera 1 for 29) vs Sri Lanka.

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery