India Women registered a 249-run victory © Getty Images
India Women registered a 249-run victory © Getty Images

With an all-round performance, India Women register a thumping 249-run victory against Ireland Women in match No. 8 of the Women’s Quadrangular Series 2017. Deepti Sharma and Poonam Raut contributed towards the victory majorly, with record-breaking opening stand while Rajeshwari Gayakwad led the bowlers to bundle the Irish ladies for 109 in their attempt to chase down 359. With the victory, India posted their fourth straight victory in the series and remain unbeaten. India have two matches left in hand before the final, one each against South Africa and Zimbabwe and are the favourites in the series with their brilliant show. FULL CRICKET UPDATES: India Women vs Ireland Women, Women’s Quadrangular Series

Winning the toss, India elected to bat. Deepti and Poonam provided India with the perfect start, Taking India gradually past the milestones of 100, 200 and 300 respectively. They broke multiple records as they put up a 320-run partnership. They became the first pair in international cricket across gender to register a 300-run opening stand. The partnership is now a record for the highest partnership in women’s cricket. Deepti herself registered the highest individual score by any India Women player as she went past Jaya Sharma’s 138 and later with her 188, registered the second highest individual score in women’s ODIs. This was also the second instance of two India Women openers scoring hundreds. India put up 358 for 3 at the end of their 50 overs, putting Ireland Women in front of a mountainous task.

Chasing the huge target, only four Ireland Women cricketers could register double-digit scores, opener Mary Waldron’s 35 being the highest by any of them. Rajeshwari Gayakwad’s 4-for and Shikha Pandey’s 3-for helped India bundle Ireland for 109 in 40 overs. Deepti Sharma was adjudged the Player of the Match for her stellar show. She had also bagged a wicket, Ireland’s first wicket to fall came off her off-spin.

Brief scores:

India Women 358 for 3 (Deepti Sharma 188, Poonam Raut 109, Shikha Pandey 27; Rachel Delaney 1 for 44) beat Irealand Women 109 (Mary Waldron 35, Jennifer Gray 26; Shikha Pandey 3 for 16, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 4 for 18) by 249 runs.