Denesh Ramdin

Denesh Ramdin was accused of claiming a dropped catch in the match against Pakistan in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 © Getty Images

London: Jun 8, 2013

West Indian wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin on Saturday said he was innocent and refuted allegations of him claiming a dropped catch in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 encounter against Pakistan on Friday.

A hearing is expected to take place in London on Monday.

The range of penalties for all first Level 2 breaches are the imposition of a fine of between 50-100% of a player’s match fee and/or a suspension of up to two (2) ODI matches.

The charge is related to an incident in Pakistan’s innings when Ramdin claimed a catch off Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq. Australian umpire Steve Davis had ruled Misbah out but when the decision was referred to third umpire Tony Hill, it came to light that Ramdin did not have full control over the ball and Misbah was reprieved.

TV replays showed that he had caught the ball initially but it popped out of his hands later on.

“Ramdin was charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel,” an ICC statement said.

“The charge has been laid by the on-field umpires Steve Davis and Nigel Llong, third umpire Tony Hill and fourth umpire Richard Kettleborough.”

(With inputs from agencies)