Pravim Tambe (left), Dhawal Kulkarni took two wickets each © IANS
Pravim Tambe (left), Dhawal Kulkarni took two wickets each © IANS

Rajasthan Royals (RR) bowlers once again did the job as they restricted Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) to 127 for the loss of five wickets in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 Match 11 at Visakhapatnam. Dhawal Kulkarni and Pravin Tambe took two wickets each as SRH were devoid of good strong partnerships in the middle to guide them to a big total.

David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan looked settled after making a slow start but they did not last long. Later on, Naman Ojha and Eoin Morgan also tried to form a partnership, but the duo also succumbed to the pressure of small score.

Rajasthan Royals’ skipper Steve Smith won the toss and elected to bowl against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Rajasthan Royals sported an unchanged playing eleven which won three back-to-back matches. Sunrisers Hyderabad made one change in the playing eleven, as Eoin Morgan replaced Kane Williamson. Live Blog: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals

Warner and Dhawan opened the innings for Sunrisers Hyderabad. Tim Southee opened the bowling for Rajasthan Royals. Dhawan edged one off Southee in the first over and the ball landed on Smith’s hand. The Royals’ skipper was not sure whether the ball landed on his hand and asked the umpire to make the decision. The review went upstairs and the third umpire ruled it not out. Later on, Warner smashed Chris Morris for three fours in the bowler’s first over. Deepak Hooda soon replaced Southee in the third over of SRH’s innings. Hooda was punished by Dhawan for bowling a full toss as the ball was smashed for four. Warner also overtook Smith as the most run scorer in the season. Live Scorecard: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals

Smith made another change in bowling as Dhawal Kulkarni replaced Morris in the fourth over. It worked very well for the Royals as Kulkarni removed Dhawan in his very first over. There was some commotion in the middle when Dhawan hit a six and the disc jockey on the ground played the sound for no-ball by mistake. The very next ball Dhawan was dismissed for 10. However, Warner did not seem pleased and was seen speaking to the umpire about the confusion and sound.

Warner did not last long at the crease either as he was run out by Ajinkya Rahane in the very next over. Kulkarni returned the next over and trapped KL Rahul for leg before. Sunrisers Hyderabad soon lost three quick wickets. The home side had two new batsmen at the crease. Morgan and Ojha were the new batsmen. Morgan was found unsettled initially by Kulkarni’s deliveries and the England One-Day International (ODI) skipper took six balls to get off the mark. There were a lot of confusion in the middle soon after Warner’s dismissal, as Morgan and Ojha almost got ran out twice.

James Faulkner was introduced to the attack in the ninth over of the match. Sunrisers Hyderabad crossed 50-mark in the same over. Smith soon introduced Stuart Binny into the attack as the sixth bowler. The India all-rounder gave away four runs in his first over.

In the eleventh over, Ojha top edged Faulkner and the ball landed in Samson’s hands. Ojha was walking back, when the umpire stopped Ojha to check whether it was a no-ball. When reviewed, the third umpire took more than two-three minutes to review the decision and Ojha was given not out and Faulkner’s delivery was adjudicated as no-ball. Smith looked unhappy and refused to accept the decision. The ‘Free Hit’ delivery was hit for a six by Morgan. Ojha and Morgan was involved in a partnership, helping SRH recover, despite certain hiccups. That did not stop Morgan from hitting the bowlers for boundaries.

Smith introduced Pravin Tambe in the 13th over and the spinner did not take much time in unsettling the batsmen. Ojha went after Tambe and lofted one towards the deep cover. However, Hooda could not reach on time to collect the ball. Smith looked frustrated. The very next over there was once again a chance of a catch but the fielder could not reach to collect either. Tambe soon removed Naman Ojha for 25 as the SRH’ set batsman was bowled by the spinner. Ravi Bopara was the new batsman for SRH.

Morgan was trapped leg before as the batsman tried to reverse sweep. Morgan scored 27 from 30 balls, which included one six and two fours. Ashish Reddy was the new batsman.

SRH reached their 100 run-mark in 17.4 overs. Bopara played risky as he went after Morris as he slammed Morris twice straight down the track. In the next over Bopara smashed Tambe for a huge six over long on. Bopara and Reddy looked dangerous in the end but could not guide SRH to a huge total, despite going after the bowlers in the last few overs.

Brief scores:

Sunrisers Hyderabad 127 for 5 in 20 overs (Naman Ojha 25, Eoin Morgan 27; Dhawal Kulkarni 2 for 9, Pravin Tambe 2 for 21) vs Rajasthan Royals.

(Sudatta Mukherjee is a reporter with CricketCountry. Other than writing on cricket, she spends penning random thoughts on her blog. When she is not writing, you will catch her at a movie theatre or watching some English television show on her laptop. Her Twitter handle is @blackrosegal)