R Ashwin, Andre Russell, KL Rahul IPL 2019
(From left )R Ashwin, Andre Russell and KL Rahul (AFP Photo)

Dream 11 Tips and Predictions

Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Dinesh Karthik won the toss and elected to bowl first against Kings XI Punjab in Match 52 of IPL 2019 at the IS Bindra PCA Stadium, Mohali on Friday.


Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Sam Curran, Simran Singh(w), Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Andrew Tye

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Shubman Gill, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Piyush Chawla, Sandeep Warrier, Harry Gurney

Game 52 of IPL 2019 pits Kings XI Punjab against Kolkata Knight Riders in Mohali. The result of Thursday night’s Super Over thriller between Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad means tonight’s encounter isn’t a must-win.

Had SRH overcome MI, KXIP and KKR would have been playing in a virtual knockout. Either of the two sides can afford a defeat but that would mean a reliance on other results in order to make the playoffs. Certainly, neither would want that.

Both KKR and KXIP have had an erratic campaign this season, but it s the two-time champions KKR that probably may have the edge in this contest. Kolkata and Punjab are tied with 10 points from 12 matches, but the Dinesh Karthik-led side is placed a rung above Punjab at sixth in the eight-team competition owing to a better net run-rate.

My Dream XI Team

KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Andre Russell (captain), Ravi Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Mohammed Shami, Murugan Ashwin (vice-captain), Sunil Narine

Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders possible teams:

KXIP: 1. KL Rahul (wk), 2. Chris Gayle, 3. Mayank Agarwal, 4. Nicholas Pooran, 5. David Miller, 6. Sarfaraz Khan/Simran Singh, 7. Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), 8. Murugan Ashwin, 9. Mujeeb Ur Rahman, 10. Arshdeep Singh, 11. Mohammed Shami

KKR: 1. Shubman Gill, 2. Chris Lynn, 3. Dinesh Karthik (captain and wk), 4. Andre Russell, 5. Sunil Narine, 6. Robin Uthappa, 7. Nitish Rana, 8. Rinku Singh, 9. Piyush Chawla, 10. Sandeep Warrier, 11. Harry Gurney

Head to Head (IPL matches)

Matches played: 24

Won by KXIP: 8

Won by KKR: 16

Form Guide (most recent first)