Dwayne Smith wins Caribbean Singlewicket Tournament

Dwayne Smith was the Man of the Tournament in the recently-concluded Champions League T20 © IANS

Port of Spain: Oct 16, 2013

Barbadian Dwayne Smith demonstrated his ability as one of the world’s leading all-rounders by winning the Caribbean Singlewicket Tournament in Port of Spain.

Smith, who helped Mumbai Indians to the Champions League T20 (CLT20) title recently, defeated Guyana’s Chris Barnwell by 35 runs in the final at the Frank Worrell Memorial Ground, at the University of the West Indies (UWI) in the competition held over the weekend.

He blasted four sixes and four boundaries in a score of 46 while Barnwell could only muster 11 runs from his two overs against Smith.

Smith qualified for the final when he defeated Trinidad and Tobago’s Navin Stewart 16-11 in the first semifinal. Barnwell overhauled 2009 champion Lendl Simmons in the second semifinal 35-32.

In the preliminary round, Smith played unbeaten, getting past Jamaican Takeem Lowe 47-18 and Marlon Richards 22-19.

Smith was the tournament’s leading scorer and the man with the most sixes, while Stewart had the best bowling figures.

The tournament format entitled the players to bowl two overs at each other.