DY Patil A beat Reliance 1 in T20 cricket tournament

DY Patil A beat Reliance 1 by four wickets © AFP

Mumbai: Jan 28, 2013

A star-studded Reliance 1 slumped to a four-wicket defeat against hosts Dr D Y Patil ‘A’ in the final of the T20 Cup in Navi Mumbai on Monday.

The star of the hosts’ win was wicket keeper batsman Yogesh Takawale, who smashed 9 sixes in his whirlwind unbeaten knock of 82 off 48 balls in the final at D Y Patil Stadium.

Takawale came in with his side in trouble in the fifth over at 23 for 4 while chasing 159 and played a match-winning knock to pull the rug from under the rival team’s feet.

Pacer Farook Sheikh had done the early damage for Relaince 1, claiming three wickets for 22.

Siddharth Chitnis played a supporting role as Takawale took the attack to the rival team and the duo added 65 runs in 33 balls to pave the way for the title triumph with five balls to spare.

Earlier, put in to bat, Reliance 1 opener Shikhar Dhawan carried his bat through the innings in making an unbeaten 98 off 65 balls with three sixes and 10 fours to help his side amass a challening score.

Skipper Parthiv Patel was the only other batsman to reach double figures in his team score of 158/6 in 20 overs.

The winners became richer by Rs 7 lakh and a trophy, while the losers had to settle for Rs 3.5 lakh and a trophy.

In addition, the winners bagged a number of individual awards with Saurabh Tiwary (best fielder), Iqbal Abdullah (best bowler), Takawale (man of the match) and Shoaib Shaikh (man of the series), being the awardees.

Dhawan won the best batsman award.

Brief scores: Reliance 1 158 for 6 in 20 Overs (Shikhar Dhawan 98*, Parthiv Patel 32; Iqbal Abdullah 3 for 25) lost to Dr D Y Patil ‘A 161 for 6 in 19.1 Overs (Yogesh Takawale 82*; Farook Sheikh 3 for 22).