Naman Ojha    AFP
Naman Ojha AFP

Navi Mumbai: Much-fancied Air India suffered a dramatic collapse on the opening day of the 14th DY Patil T20 Cup as they caved in to a 17 run loss to Canara Bank at the University Ground. Air India, chasing Canara Bank’s imposing target of 181 for 8, were well-placed losing just one wicket with the score on 100 for 1 in 9.4 overs. The men leading the charge for Air India were wicket-keeper Naman Ojha and opener Akarshit Gomel. But once Gomel fell in the 10th over, Air India suffered a collapse losing nine wickets for 64 runs to hand Canara Bank a 17 run win.

Ojha was the sixth man to be dismissed. In the other games, Tata Sports Club got the better of Central Railway SA by 22 runs at the stadium in the morning, whereas in the evening game Mumbai Police won a thrilling match against D Y Patil Sports ‘A’ by mere six runs. The other encounter at the University Ground saw CAG beat ONGC by four wickets in the evening clash.

Brief Scores:

Tata Sports Club 171 for 7 in 20 overs (Nikhil Patil Jr 65, Kaustub Pawar 45) beat Central Railway SA 149 for 8 in 20 overs (Dey Shetti 72, Manish Rao 31; Sachin Yadav 3 for 19, Aditya Dhumal 2 for 19) by 22 runs.

Mumbai Police 156 for 8 in 20 overs (Harsh Tank 48, Shashikant Kadam 34, Mayur Sanap 28) beat DY Patil Sports ‘A’ 150 in 19.4 overs (Yogesh Takawale 54; Chirag Khurana 4 for 17, Harsh Tank 2 for 7) by 6 runs.

Canara Bank 181 for 8 in 20 overs (KB Pawan 51, Rajoo Bhatkal 45; John Abraham 3 for 35, Badrey Alam 2 for 28, Paul Valthaty 2 for 28) beat Air India 164 in 19.5 overs (Akarshit Gomel 64, Naman Ojha 52; Ram Sharik Yadav 2 for 28, MG Naveen 3 for 21) by 17 runs

ONGC 166 in 20 overs (Mahipal Lomror 32, Mayank Tehlan 33; Ram Dayal 2-40, Sayan Ghosh 4-21) lost to CAG 167 for 6 in 19.5 overs (Ankit Kaushik 54*, Gurinder Singh 35*, Ankit Lamba 30; Sumit Narwal 2 for 22, Vikramjeet Malik 2 for 35) by 4 wickets.