A round-up of the Elite Group B matches in round seven of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

At the Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi amassed 392 for five in their 50 overs riding on Gautam Gambhir s 151 and Dhruv Shorey s unbeaten 99 off 69 balls against Kerala in the Round 7 of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

After being put in to bat, Delhi openers Unmukt Chand and Gambhir tore in the Kerala openers combining for 172 runs in just 25.2 overs. Chand made 69 off 88 with nine boundaries before he was picked by Vasudevan Jagadeesh. But there was no respite for Kerala as Shorey, who had two 90 plus scores in the Duleep Trophy, consolidated for Delhi.

Shorey and Gambhir then raced to a 113-run stand in just 14.4 overs before GAmbhir had to retire hurt owing to a shoulder injury. Pranshu Vijayran then added 48 off 34 with Shorey unbeaten on 99.

In reply, Kerala were never in the chase but handy contributions from Sanju Samson 47, Sachin Baby 47 and Jagadeesh 59 took Kerala to 227 for eight in their 50 overs. Kerala slumped to a 165-run defeat – their second loss in five matches. With this win Delhi joined Andhra at the top of the tally on points.

Brief Scores: Delhi 392/3 (Gautam Gambhir 151, Dhruv Shorey 99*; Jagadeesh 1/51) beat Kerala 228/7 (Jagadeesh 59, Pawan Negi 3/41) by 165 runs

At Palam A ground, Hyderabad bowlers bundled out Uttar Pradesh for just 130 with slow left-arm spinner Mehdi Hassan claiming 5 for 20. Only skipper Suresh Raina put up any kind of resistance with a 65-ball 53.

In reply, openers Tanmay Agarwal (62*) and skipper Akshath Reddy (64) made short work of the target adding 124 runs for the opening wicket. With this win, Hyderabad moved up to fourth place in the points tally, while UP remain winless and at the bottom.

Brief Scores: Hyderabad 134/1 (Akshath Reddy 64, Tanmay Agarwal 62*; Shiva Singh 1/31) beat Uttar Pradesh 130 (Suresh Raina 53; Mehdi Hasan 5/20) by nine wickets

In the third match of the group, at Palam B ground, Madhya Pradesh clinched a thriller one-run win over Odisha to claim their first win of the campaign.

After finding themselves in a spot of bother at 84 for 3, MP were boosted by an 85-run stand for the fourth wicket by Yash Dubey (75) and Anshul Tripathi (52). Venkatesh Iyer s level-headed knock of 46 off 48 then helped MP to 277.

In reply, Odisha opener Anurag Sarangi anchored the chase with 78 off 91 while Biplab Samantray made 53 for 72. However, MP chipped in with regular wickets before Abhishek Raut revived Odisha with 55 off 53. Lower-order batsman Deepak Behara added 15 while Suryakant Pradhan made 14, yet Odisha fell short by one run.

Brief Scores: Madhya Pradesh 277 (Yash Dubey 75, Anshul Tripathi 52; Deepak Behera 3/38) beat Odisha 276/8 (Anurag Sarangi 78, Abhishek Raut 55*; Rameez Khan 4/49) by one run