England All-rounder Moeen Ali Named Eoin Morgan’s Deputy For Ireland ODIs
File image of Moeen Ali celebrating after taking a wicket©ICC Twitter

All-rounder Moeen Ali was on Tuesday named England vice-captain for their upcoming three-match ODI series against Ireland, beginning on July 30. Ali will act as skipper Eoin Morgan’s deputy in the absence of Jos Buttler, who is part of the Test setup and would be gearing up for the three-match series against Pakistan starting August 5.

“England’s squad for the series itself will be confirmed next week, after two intra-squad matches (Tuesday, 11am & Friday, 2pm) and a warm-up match for England Lions vs Ireland on Sunday July 26 (2pm),” the ECB statement read.

The hosts had last week announced a 24-member training squad that will prepare for the series behind closed doors at Ageas Bowl.

Ali and Jonny Bairstow both received calls-ups after missing out on securing a place in the England squad for the ongoing Test series against West Indies.

Also, there was no place for opener Alex Hales, who continues to be frozen out of the national set-up after being tested positive for recreational drugs just before the 2019 World Cup, which hosts England eventually won.

England and Ireland are scheduled to play three ODIs with all the matches to be hosted at Ageas Bowl in Southampton on July 30, August 1 and August 4 respectively.

Moeen played his 100th ODI as part of England’s successful ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 campaign, though he was dropped from the side one match later due to a dip in form. He made a triumphant return to the side during their tour of South Africa, playing a key part in their two-wicket win in the third and final ODI to draw the series 1-1.

England’s ODI Training Group: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Henry Brookes (Warwickshire), Brydon Carse (Durham), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Laurie Evans (Sussex), Richard Gleeson (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Sam Hain (Warwickshire), Tom Helm (Middlesex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Phil Salt (Sussex), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire).