England choose to bat first against Ireland

Andrew Strauss would be settle for nothing than a big win against Ireland at Bengaluru

By CricketCountry Staff

Bengaluru: Mar 2, 2011

England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and choose to bat first against Ireland in a World Cup Group B match at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium at Bengaluru on Wednesday.

England would be looking for full points after being locked in a thrilling tie with India in their second game against India at the same venue. They overcame a spirited Netherlands by six wickets in their World Cup opener.

Ireland, on the other hand, gave Bangladesh a scare before going down by 27 runs in their first game.


England: Andrew Strauss (c), Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Matthew Prior (wk), Michael Yardy, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson.

Ireland: William Porterfield (c), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O Brien (wk), Alex Cusack, Kevin O Brien, Andre Botha, John Mooney, Trent Johnston, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin.

Pictures Getty Images