England decide to bat against South Africa

Andrew Strauss, England captain during a practise session ahead of their game against South Africa

By CricketCountry Staff

Chennai: Mar 6, 2011

England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and chose to bat against South Africa in their World Cup Group B match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

South Africa have retained the same squad that played against Netherlands in the last match, whereas Ravi Bopara has replaced Paul Collingwood in the England squad. Collingwood has been dropped due to his poor form with the bat and is also injured, Strauss informed.


England: Andrew Strauss (c), Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Matt Prior (wk), Michael Yardy, Graeme Swann, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (c), Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (wk), Morne van Wyk, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.

Pictures Getty Images