Eoin Morgan to lead England in ODIs against Ireland

Eoin Morgan will lead England in absence of ODI captain Alastair Cook Getty Images

London: Aug 20, 2011

England on Saturday named a 13-member squad with Eoin Morgan being handed maiden captaincy against his former international side Ireland in Dublin on August 25 with as many as five players being rested for this one-off tie.

The squad has several new faces, mainly members of England Lions, after the selectors decided to rest senior players currently involved in the Test series against India, including regular ODI captain Alastair Cook, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, James Anderson and Stuart Broad ahead of the five-match ODI series against later this month.

The squad consists of Leicestershire’s James Taylor, Yorkshire’s Jonathan Bairstow and Durham’s Ben Stokes and Scott Borthwick all recently featured in the England Lions’ ODI series win over Sri Lanka A.

“The squad we’re looking to take to Ireland involves a number of exciting young England players as we rest several players currently involved in the npower Test series against India,” said national selector Geoff Miller.

“By resting several players who have played international cricket since the start of summer the opportunity has arisen for a number of talented up and coming players to continue their development on international stage. Ireland are a tough ODI outfit and we’ll be fielding a very strong England side that will need to play well,” he said.

Coach Andy Flower would be missing the trip to Ireland as he has been given a break before the Twenty20 international and the ODI series against India starting September 3.

Assistant coach Richard Halsall will take charge of the side. England had sensationally lost to Ireland in the World Cup in Bangalore in March when Kevin O’Brien smashed one of the fastest ODI hundreds in history. (PTI)


Eoin Morgan (c), Jonathan Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Scott Borthwick, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Graham Onions, Samit Patel, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes.