Australia won the last Ashes defeating England 5-0 © Getty Images
Australia won the last Ashes defeating England 5-0 © Getty Images


May 12, 2015


England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Monday announced the dates of Ashes 2015 in England. Australia will be looking to defend their crown and will be hoping for better outing in England this time. The Ashes officially start on July 8, 2015 in Cardiff reported


The other grounds hosting the test matches would be Lord’s, Edgbaston, Trent Bridge and The Oval and the Australian team will be looking to win their first Ashes in England since 2001.


The Australian team also play tour games against Kent and Essex and after the end of the test series they plan an One Day International against Ireland. Australia are now the number Test side and their coach Darren Lehamann hopes they can continue with the same form. After defeating England 5-0 and South Africa 2-1 in the recently concluded Test series, Australia was promoted to the number one team by ICC.


England will be hoping for a better performance this time, after they suffered a whitewash in Australia. Playing at home they will looking to take advantage. The full schedule is given in the table below.


Thu 25 – Sun 28 June Four-day v Kent Canterbury
Wed 1 – Sat 4 July Four-day v Essex Chelmsford
Wed 8 – Sun 12 July First Test Sophia Gardens
Thu 16 – Mon 20 July Second Test Lord’s
Thu 23 – Sat 25 July Three-day v Derbyshire County Ground
Wed 29 July – Sun 2 August Third Test Edgbaston
Thu 6 – Mon 10 August Fourth Test Trent Bridge
Fri 14 – Sun 16 August Three-day v Northants Northampton
Thu 20 – Mon 24 August Fifth Test The Oval
Thu 27 August 50-over v Ireland Venue TBC
Mon 31 August T20 International Sophia Gardens
Thu 3 September First ODI (D/N) The Rose Bowl
Sat 5 September Second ODI Lord’s
Tue 8 September Third ODI (D/N) Old Trafford
Fri 11 September Fourth ODI Headingley
Sun 13 September Fifth ODI Old Trafford