Hashim Amla sweeps CSA awards; named cricketer of the year

Hashim Amla became the third South African after Shaun Pollock and Makhaya Ntini to bag the cricketer of the year award on two occasions. (Photo credit: CSA Twitter)

Sep 9, 2013

Batsman Hashim Amla bagged four awards including the cricketer of the year title at the Cricket South Africa (CSA) awards held in Johannesburg on Monday evening.

Amla was also awarded Test cricketer of the year, South Africa fans’ cricketer of the year and his triple century earned him KFC ‘So Good’ award.

AB de Villiers won the ODI cricketer of the year while Dale Steyn bagged the T20 international cricketer of the year. All-rounder Roelof Van der Merwe won the South African Cricketers’ Association’s (SACA) Most Valuable Player award.

The award took into account the performances in Test, ODI and Twenty20 International series between May 1, 2012 and April 30, 2013.

“This has been another amazing year for our top players,” commented CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat.

“It is not easy to keep finding special words to speak about Hashim. He has set SA record test scores since unity against both England and Australia and he is the first player to score a test triple century for our country.

“As if that is not remarkable enough he is also the No 1 rated player on the ICC rankings for test and ODI players,” CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat was quoted as saying by SuperSport.com.

Kyle Abbott was named South Africa’s newcomer of the year while Marizanne Kapp bagged Women’s cricketer of the year. The CSA Fairplay Award, introduced in 2010, was bagged by Bizhub.

Among the awards for the umpires, Johan Cloete won the CSA Umpire of the Year award while Shaun George was chosen as the CSA Umpire’s Umpire of the Year.

Ayabulela Gqamane was awarded the Domestic Newcomer of the Year by SK Reddy.