former player Laxmi Ratan Shukla opens his account in Politics, wins Vidhan Sabha Elections © PTI
Former player Laxmi Ratan Shukla opens his account in politics, wins Vidhan Sabha Elections © PTI

Former player Laxmi Ratan Shukla wins the election from Howrah-Uttar for All India Trinamool Congress. He won the elections by a difference of 36,919 votes against his rival candidate Santosh Kumar Pathak from Congress. Laxmi Ratan Shukla. He was a regular member of IPL franchisee Kolkata Knight Riders and also a member of the winning team in IPL 2012 under Gautam Gambhir. He played a total of 48 matches picking up 15 wickets and also contributing in the batting department with career best score-48*. He was also a part of Indian team for three matches against West Indies and Sri Lanka in 1999. He failed to book a berth in the side picking up only one wickets in a total of three matches and losing the interests of the selectors. He used to play for Bengal in domestic circuit. ALSO READ: Kerala rejects Sreesanth! Fails to make it big in Vidhan Sabha Elections

Four ministers in the Oommen Chandy cabinet as well as the speaker and deputy speaker bit the dust as the Left Democratic Front swept the Kerala elections, winning 91 seats in the 140-member assembly. With the Congress-led United Democratic Front only retaining 47 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party opened its account in the state for the first time, the ministers who lost were Shibhu Baby John (labour), P.K.Jayalekshmi (scheduled tribes welfare), K.Babu (ports and excise), and K.P.Mohanan (agriculture).

Besides Speaker N.Sakthan and Deputy Speaker Palode Ravi (both Congress), government chief whip Thomas Unniyadan (Kerala Congress-Mani) also lost

(With inputs from IANS)