With the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 just a day away from commencement lets have look into the history of the event that started way back in 1998. Called as ‘ICC Knockout Trophy’ then, the event has become as one of the marquee tournaments organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). In all a total of 100 matches have been played so far with the first match of the upcoming edition between England and Bangladesh to be number 101. Out of the 100 games played, 55 games have been won chasing while 40 have been won batting first. India remains to be the most successful team across the seven editions held from 1998 to 2013.

ICC aiming at promoting the game in non-cricketing regions opted to for the inaugural 1998 edition to take place in Bangladesh. In all a total of 9 teams participated playing in just 8 matches over a span of as many days. Ironically it was South Africa that prevailed over West Indies to win their one and only ICC trophy under the leadership of the late Hansie Cronje.

Designed by Ranjeet Parab
Designed by Ranjeet Parab

The next edition of KnockOut Trophy (2000) was played in Kenya with participating teams increased to 11. This edition will always be remembered for the debuts of Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan. In the final, New Zealand helped by the marvel of Chris Cairns beat India by 4 wickets to win it title; their only ICC trophy as well.

The 2002 edition was renamed as Champions Trophy that saw all 10 Test nation eye for top honour. Sadly for cricket fans all around both the final and the reserve day final were washed out and India and Sri Lanka were announced as joint-champions.

England yet to win an ICC event hosted the Champions Trophy for the first time in 2004. The final was between England and West Indies that saw the latter prevail by 2 wickets.

Then came the domination of the Australians who conquered the trophy on back-to-back editions. The 2006 edition saw Australia beat defending champions West Indies by 8 to lay their hands on the first Champions Trophy.

After much debate over the host nation, South Africa landed the opportunity in 2009, after a years delay. This final saw Tran-Tasmania rivalry re-kindle as Australia took on New Zealand. Defending champions Australia thrashed their neighbours by 6 wickets to lift the trophy second time in a row.

England in 2013 became the first nation to host the Champions Trophy twice. This edition came in on the heels of a successful ICC World Cup in 2011. This was the first time that one saw the introduction of warm-up games. India who were reining 50-over world champions, defeated hosts England in a rain truncated final by 5 runs to win their second run as ICC Champions Trophy winners.