ICC charges Denesh Ramdin for conduct contrary to spirit of game

Denesh Ramdin claimed a dropped catch of Misbah-ul-Haq on Friday © Getty Images (File photo)

London: Jun 8, 2013 

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Saturday charged West Indies’ Denesh Ramdin for conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game during a Champions Trophy match against Pakistan but the wicket-keeper batsman has pleaded not guilty and faces a hearing on Monday.

The charge is related to an incident in Pakistan’s innings when Ramdin claimed a catch off Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq. Australian umpire Steve Davis had ruled Misbah out but when the decision was referred to third umpire Tony Hill it came to light that Ramdin did not have full control over the ball and Misbah was reprieved.

TV replays showed that he had caught the ball initially but it popped out of his hands later on.

“Ramdin was charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel,” an ICC statement said.

“The charge has been laid by the on-field umpires Steve Davis and Nigel Llong, third umpire Tony Hill and fourth umpire Richard Kettleborough.”

The range of penalties for all first Level 2 breaches are the imposition of a fine of between 50-100% of a players match fee and/or a suspension of up to two (2) ODI matches.