ICC Women's World Cup 2013, Group A match: West Indies win toss and put India in to bat

Mithali Raj and Co will bat first at the Brabourne Stadium against the West Indies © Getty Images

Mumbai: Jan 31, 2013

West Indies skipper Merissa Aguilleira has won the toss and elected to bowl first in the unaugural match of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 against India at the Brabourne Stadium.

The pitch at the historic stadium has a sprinkling of grass, which may help the seam bowlers throughout the game.

The day-night clash would set the ball rolling for the event, which will also be held in Cuttack where the Pakistan team (placed in Group B) is based due to security concerns in Mumbai.

Group A matches are to be held in Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium, MIG Club at Bandra and the Bandra-Kurla Complex ground of the Mumbai Cricket Association.

(with inputs from PTI)


India: Poonam Raut, Thirush Kamini, Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur, Reema Malhotra, Karu Jain (wk), Nagarajan Niranjana, Amita Sharma, Jhulan Goswami, Gouher Sultana, Rasanara Parwin

West Indies: Stafanie Taylor, Kycia Knight, Shemaine Campbelle, Kyshona Knight, Deandra Dottin, Merissa Aguilleira (c & wk), Shanel Daley, Shaquana Quintyne, Anisa Mohammed, Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt