Getty Images
Getty Images

Six teams will participate in the ICC World Cricket League Division 2 (WCLD 2) to make their way to the ICC World Cup Qualifier 2018, which would be held in Zimbabwe. The WCLD 2 is scheduled to start from February 2 with finals to be held on February 15 at Wanderers.

The top two teams of the tournament will secure the final spot in World Cup Qualifier 2018 and be just a step away from the World Cup 2019, which will be held in England and Wales. A total of 83 teams started the qualification process for World Cup 2019, of which only top two from the World Cup Qualifier 2018 will qualify.

Canada, Kenya, Namibia, Nepal, Oman and United Arab Emirates will compete against one another. Canada have previously played four World Cups, with 2011 being their recent one.

Captain’s corner

Canada s Nitish Kumar said: I am very excited for the event, we have been working so hard, so I believe it is time to convert that into performances and get Canada back to where we were four years ago

Kenya s Nitish Patel said: Qualifying would be the culmination of a journey that started when the World Cricket League cycle begun

Namibia s Sarel Burger said: Qualifying for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier is only the first step, but it would be the reward for exceptional hard work for a long period of time.

Nepal s Paras Khadka said: ICC World Cricket League Division 2 will be like a royal rumble where every team will give their best in order to seal their places for next level

Oman s Sultan Ahmed said: We are all looking forward to the ICC World Cricket League Division 2

UAE s Rohan Mustafa said: The players are very excited to be given this opportunity to compete against such quality teams over a short timeframe


Canada: Nitish Kumar (captain), Bhavindu Adhihetty, Cecil Pervez, Dhanuka Pathirana, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Hamza Tariq, Srimantha Wijeyeratne, Junaid Siddiqui, Nicholas Kirton, Navneet Dhaliwal, Nikhil Dutta, Dilon Heyliger, Saad Zafar, Satsimranjit Dhindsa

Kenya: Rakep Patel (captain), Collins Obuya, Gurdeep Bhagat, Dhiren Gondaria, Irfan Karim, Nelson Odhiambo, Shem Ngoche, Hiren Varaiya, Nehemiah Ngoche, Emmanuel Ringera, Lucas Ndandason, Rushabhvardhan Patel, Alex Auma, Karan Kaul

Namibia: Sarel Burger (captain), Jean Milner Bredenkamp, Stephan Baard, Petrus Jacobus Burger, Merwe Gerhard Erasmus, Jan Nicolaas Frylinck, Zane Edward Green, Jean-Pierre Kotze, Lohandre Louwrens, Bernhard Scholtz, Johannes Smit, Louis van der Westhuizen, Christoffel Viljoen, Craig Williams

Nepal: Paras Khadka (captain), Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Vesawkar, Basant Regmi, Shakti Prasad Gauchan,Sompal Kami, Anil Kumar Sah, Rohit Kumar Paudel, Karan KC, Md. Arif Sheikh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Dilap Nath, Lalit Bhandari

Oman: Sultan Ahmed (captain), Aaqib Ilyas Sulehri, Ahmad Fayyaz Butt, Ajay Vrajlal Lalcheta, Swapnil Sunil Khadye, Bilal Khan, Khawar Ali, Muhammed Nadeem, Muhammad Naseem, Zeeshan Maqsood, Jay Viram Odedra, Jatinder Singh, Vaibhav Shridhar Wategaonkar, Kaleemullah Kaleemullah

United Arab Emirates: Rohan Mustafa (captain), Muhammad Ashfaq Ahmed, Ghulam Shabbir, Rameez Shahzad, Muhammad Boota, Muhammad Usman, Adnan Mufti, Shaiman Anwar, Ahmed Raza, Imran Haider, Qadeer Ahmed, Muhammad Naveed, Muhammad Amir Hayat, Zahoor Khan


8 February: Kenya v UAE (Wanderers); Nepal v Namibia (WAP); Oman v Canada (Trustco UNITED)

9 February: UAE v Canada (Wanderers); Nepal v Oman (WAP); Kenya v Namibia (Trustco UNITED)

10 February: Rest/Reserve

11 February: Namibia v Oman (Wanderers); Kenya v Canada (WAP); UAE v Nepal (Trustco UNITED)

12 February: Kenya v Nepal (Wanderers); UAE v Oman (WAP); Namibia v Canada (Trustco UNITED)

13 February: Rest/Reserve

14 February: Nepal v Canada (Wanderers); UAE v Namibia (WAP); Kenya v Oman (Trustco UNITED)

15 February: Final (Wanderers); 3rd v 4th Playoff (WAP); 5th v 6th Playoff (Trustco UNITED)