Stephan Myburgh top scored with 63 © Getty Images
Stephan Myburgh top scored with 63 © Getty Images


By CricketCountry Staff


Mar 21, 2014


Up against the improbable task of chasing down 190 for a place in the ICC World T20 2014 Super-10, Netherlands ended up playing the fastest innings in the history across formats for any innings lasting more than ten overs against Ireland at Sylhet on Friday.


The previous record had belonged to New Zealand, who had scored 283 for four in 21 overs at a breakneck 13.47 runs an over on New Year’s Day thanks to Corey Anderson’s record-breaking 131 not out.


Netherlands scored 193 for four in 13.5 overs today against Ireland at Sylhet, scoring at 13.95 runs an over. Below is the list of fastest scores in the history of cricket:


Team Score Overs Run Rate Opposition Venue Season Format
Netherlands 193/4 13.5 13.95 Ireland Sylhet 2013-14 T20I
New Zealand 283/4 21 13.47 West Indies Queenstown 2013-14 ODI
Sri Lanka 260/6 20 13.00 Kenya Johannesburg 2007-08 T20I
Australia 248/6 20 12.40 England Southampton 2013 T20I
Australia 142/2 11.4 12.17 West Indies Sydney 2009-10 T20I

– New Zealand had scored 95 without loss (at 15.83) in an ODI against Bangladesh at Queenstown on 2007-08 in a successful chase
– New Zealand had scored 90 without loss (at 15.00) in a T20I against Scotland at The Oval in 2009 in a successful chase
– India had declared at 97 for one in 13 overs scoring at 7.46 runs an over against England at Kanpur in 1984-85.