Afghanistan win
Afghanistan bundle out Zimbabwe on 127 runs © Getty Images

Afghanistan thump Zimbabwe by 59 runs and qualify for the Super 10 stage. Afghanistan and Zimbabwe lock horns in the 9th match, First Round Group B of the ICC World T20 2016 at Nagpur. In a must-win game for both the teams, Afghanistan won the toss and elected to bat first. Afghanistan batsmen made their intention clear: see the ball, hit the ball. henwari and Nabi stictched 98-run partnership for the 5th wicket and posted 186 runs on the board. It was an uphill task for Zimbabwe to score a mammoth 187 total in a must-win game. The Zimbabwe openers, Vusimuzi Sibanda and captain Hamilton Masakadza, had their task cut out: go all guns blazing and make full use of the batting Powerplay. However, Afghanistan bowlers bowled a disciplined line and length and did not let the opposition batsmen open their arms. Zimbabwe were under fire as they lost both their in-form openers in the Powerplay. The onus was then Richmond Mutumbami and Sean Williams to stitch a partnership and get their team over the line. But both failed to clear the boundary line and got out cheaply. Live Scorecard: Live Cricket Score Afghanistan vs Zimbabwe, ICC World T20 2016 AFG vs ZIM 9th T20 Match at Nagpur

After 10.2 overs, Zimbabwe were 4 for 59. They need an innings of substance; they needed someone like Mohammad Nabi who would bat throughout and get close to the total. But Afghanistan bowlers kept taking wickets at regular intervals and did not let the Zimbabwe batsmen take the control over the chase. Afghanistan’s leg-spinner Rashin Khan took 3 wickets and conceded only 11 runs off his 4 overs. Other Afghanistan bowlers bowled well in tandem and made sure they building pressure on the opposition. Afghanistan bundled out Zimbabwe on 127 runs and registered their 2nd highest victory in terms of run chase.

Brief scores:

Afghanistan 186 for 6 (Mohammad Shahzad 40, Samiullah Shenwari 43, Mohammad Nabi 52; Panyangara 4 for 32, Sean Williams 1 for 25) beat Zimbabwe 127 (Tinashe Payangara 17, Sikandar Raza 15; Rashid Khan 3 for 11, Hamid Hassan 2 for 11) by 59 runs.

Full Scorecard

Man of the Match: Mohammad Nabi