ICC World T20 2016 Round 1 schedule: Match time table and ground details

The eight teams in Round 1 will compete for two vacant spots in the tournament proper.

Related articles

Bangladesh are favourites to qualify from Group A © AFP
Bangladesh are favourites to qualify from Group A © AFP

The ICC, at an event at Mumbai has released the schedules and fixtures for the ICC World T20 2016 to be held in India. The tournament proper will see a total of 10 teams compete for the ultimate glory. Eight of those teams have been per-determined on basis of rankings of the full member nations. The other positions will be determined on basis of a pre-qualifying tournament that will be played from the period between March 8 to March 13. There will be eight teams competing for two positions. The teams that will battle it out in this round dubbed ‘Round 1’ are two of the bottom ranked full members and six associates who played a qualifying tournament in 2015 to get through. ICC World T20 2016 schedule: Match time table and ground details

The teams include Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, Oman, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan. The teams have been distributed in two groups. Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman will be in Group A while Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan are in Group B. From both groups, the top team will make it to the tournament proper starting March 15. You can find the schedule and ground details for the proper tournament here.

Given how strong a side Bangladesh have become in the recent past, it can be expected that they will make it from Group A, but one can not rule out Ireland and Netherlands entirely. Group B will be an even closer contest since it is very difficult to pick a favourite from Zimbabwe and Afghanistan while Scotland are also tough contenders.

Date Fixture Venue Group
08-03-2016 Zimbabwe vs Hong Kong Nagpur B
Scotland vs Afghanistan Nagpur B
09-03-2016 Bangladesh vs Netherlands Dharamsala A
Ireland vs Oman Dharamsala A
10-03-2016 Scotland vs Zimbabwe Nagpur B
Hong Kong vs Afghanistan Nagpur B
11-03-2016 Netherlands vs Oman Dharamsala A
Bangladesh vs Ireland Dharamsala A
12-03-2016 Zimbabwe vs Afghanistan Nagpur B
Scotland vs Hong Kong Nagpur B
13-03-2016 Netherlands vs Ireland Dharamsala A
Bangladesh vs Oman Dharamsala A

All matches of the Round 1 will only be held at Dharamsala and Nagpur.

trending this week