© Getty Images
SIx stadiums to be provided free WiFi © Getty Images

New Delhi : Reliance Jio Infocomm will offer complementary WiFi service, Jionet, at the six main stadiums across the country for T20 World Cup matches, a company statement said on Monday. “Jionet has embarked on this huge project as a part of revolutionizing how spectators experience the games, as they are commonly faced with issues regarding connectivity,” the company statement said. The stadiums where the company will provide WiFi are – M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bangalore), Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium (Dharmashala), Eden Gardens (Kolkata), Punjab Cricket Association Stadium (Mohali), Ferozeshah Kotla (New Delhi) and Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai). Also read: Ahmed Shehzad returns to Pakistan squad for ICC World T20 2016; Mohammad Sami retains place

“To make this possible, Jionet has harnessed its superior network capacity along with an excellent deployment of specially designed, state-of-the-art Wi-Fi access points that will cover the entire stadium with a seating capacity of minimum 20,000,” the statement added.

Earlier, Google dedicated its doodle to mark the start of the 2016 edition of ICC T20 World Cup. The doodle gives us an amazing bird’s-eye view of a cricket stadium with players standing on the playing field and the audience cheering them. A big banner of GOOGLE can be seen in the background. When you click on the doodle, it directs you to the search page showing the match schedule and other information related to T20 world Cup.

The ICC World T20 2016 will begin with a qualifying round comprising eight teams, the top two of which will qualify for the main round. This qualifying round begins March 8 with Zimbabwe playing Hong Kong and will go on till March 13 when Bangladesh will play Oman. The eight teams in this round are Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Ireland, Hong Kong, Netherlands, Scotland, Oman, and Zimbabwe.