Picking Dane Piedt for this match has turned out to be an excellent move for South Africa © AFP
Picking Dane Piedt for this match has turned out to be an excellent move for South Africa © AFP

India go to tea at 139 for 6 in fourth Test, Day One at Delhi vs South Africa. Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane had an excellent partnership of 70 before Kohli was dismissed for 44 in one of the most bizarre fashions. Kohli swept the ball hard and the ball crashed into Temba Bavuma’s thigh, popped up in the air and Dane Vilas completed a diving catch. Dane Piedt has been the pick of the bowers as he has picked up 4 wickets in the innings so far. Rahane, meanwhile has played very well and is nearing a half-century. Rohit Sharma, who came in after Kohli’s dismissal was first dropped by Hashim Amla at slips but then he threw his wicket away after he holed out in the deep off the bowling of Dane Piedt  Rohit has been short of runs of late and he will be disappointed with his effort in this innings. Live Cricket Scorecard: India vs South Africa 2015, 4th Test at Delhi

Shikhar Dhawan and Cheteshwar Pujara were dismissed for 33 and 14 respectively soon after play resumed after lunch. India were in a comfortable position at lunch as they were 60 for 1 at lunch. They had lost just Murali Vijay before the end of first session, but Dhawan and Pujara added some stability before both of them were dismissed. India will have to come out and be positive in the final session of the day and ensure that do not throw away their wickets, like Rohit did. Rahane is looking good at the crease and he would havehoped that Wriddhiman Saha gave him good support at the other end, but he was sadly dismissed off the final ball of the session. India have Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin to follow, who are more than handy with the bat. Live cricket updates: India vs South Africa 2015, 4th Test at Delhi

Piedt has been excellent in this match and Kyle Abbott has bowled his heart out in this innings so far. It was perhaps a good move to include him in the playing Xi in place of under-performing Kagiso Rabada.

Earlier, India had won the toss for the fourth continuous time in this series. India have made a change to their side as Amit Mishra misses out and Umesh Yadav has been included in his place. South Africa too have made a few changes. They have roped in Piedt, Kyle Abbott and Temba Bavuma in place of Rabada, Simon Harmer and Stiaan Van Zyl.

Brief scores:

India 139 for 6 ( Shikhar Dhawan 33, Virat Kohli 44 ; Dane Piedt 4 for 56, Kyle Abbott 2 for 21) vs South Africa.

(Pramod Ananth is a reporter at CricketCountry. He has represented Karnataka table tennis under-15, and is a hardcore supporter of Liverpool FC. His Twitter handle is @pramz)