Unmukt Chand top-scored for India A with a knock of 53 runs from 112 balls © Getty Images (File Photo)
Unmukt Chand top-scored for India A with a knock of 53 runs from 112 balls © Getty Images (File Photo)


Jul 26, 2014


India A registered their third win of the ongoing Quadrangular series in Australia by beating South Africa A by a wicket in the eight game of the tournament at the Garden Oval in Darwin. With this win India A have consolidated their position at the top of the table and look to seal a spot in the final soon.


South Africa A skipper Justin Ontong won the toss and decided to bat. India A got their first strike when Dhawal Kulkarni dismissed in-form batsman Heino Kuhn with just 7 runs  scored by the team. The dismissal was followed by a couple of useful 50-plus partnerships which helped bring the Proteas back to the game.


Riley Rossouw top scored for the South Africans with a scintillating knock of 137 from 150 balls, the innings of which contained 15 boundaries. His innings was the sole bright spot in an otherwise dull batting performance by the rest of the team. South Africa A finished at a respectable score of 275. Among the Indian bowlers, Karn Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni and Rishi Dhawan picked two wickets each conceding 35, 47 and 74 runs respectively.


The Indians in reply started off on a good note, with an 84-run opening stand between Robin Uthappa and Unmukt Chand. Uthappa was adjudged leg-before off the bowling of skipper Ontong, four runs short off a well-deserved half-century. This was followed by another valuable 68-run partnership between Chand and Manan Vohra.


The Indians started to lose wickets at regular intervals in the middle and final overs, with the South African bowlers stemming the flow of runs and looking to clinch the match. It was Karn Sharma’s whirlwind 16-ball 39 that eventually saved the day for India. Sharma smashed four boundaries and two sixes as India A reached the target off the second-last ball.


In the other game, Australia thrashed the National Performance Squad(NPS) by seven wickets. The Australians turned the tables on the NPS squad, who had earlier defeated them by 52 runs.


Brief Scores:

South Africa A 275 for 8 (Rilee Rossouw 137; Karn Sharma 2 for 35) lost to India A 276 for 9 (Unmukt Chand 53, Manan Vohra 52; Marchant De Lange 3 for 71) by 1 wicket.