India A lose quick wickets after taking lead against West Indies A

Manoj Tiwary scored 62 before getting dismissed by Kevin McClean PTI

Gros Islet (St Lucia): Jun 18, 2012

India A lost three wickets quickly after conceding a 106 first-innings lead to West Indies A in a rain-interrupted first session on the third day of the third and final unofficial cricket Test at St Lucia on Monday.

After the hosts’ first innings ended at 336 all out, Delorn Johnson and Kevin McClean struck with new ball to leave the visitors reeling at 30 for three in their second essay, still 76 runs behind when lunch was called.

Rohit Sharma was batting on 2 while Manoj Tiwary was yet to open his account.

West Indies, in reply to India’s first-innings total of 230, added 16 runs to their overnight score of 320 for eight.

With a healthy lead on their side, Johnson and McClean bowled aggressively to put the hosts on top.

Johnson, who has dismissed Abhinav Mukund four times on the tour so far, had his man again when he got the out-of-form batsman to edge one to keeper Devon Thomas. Mukund’s sequence of scores on the tour read a poor 0, 0, 8, 8, 10 and 20.

The south Indian Chennai city batsman’s dismissal brought the rain, forcing the players to walk off the field at the Beausejour Stadium.

On resumption, India were dealt a blow again as Ajinkya Rahane had no answer to a perfect outswinger by Johnson.

India were 23 for two when Rahane gave Thomas his second catch of the day.

There was another setback in store for the visitors as in-form skipper Cheteshwar Pujara too failed to make a substantial contribution, thanks to a brilliant catch by Kieran Powell at gully off McClean’s bowling.

Johnson had taken two for 13 while McClean had one for 16 in the first session.

Earlier, Parvinder Awana and Shami Ahmed took a wicket apiece to dismiss West Indies A quickly on the third morning.

Awana and Jalaj Saxena finished with three wickets each while Ahmed struck twice. There was also a wicket for Akshay Darekar. (PTI)

Brief Scorecard: India A 230 & 181 for 7 (Manoj Tiwary 62, Wriddhiman Saha 48*; Delorn Johnson 3 for 43, Kevin McClean 3 for 47) lead West Indies A 336 (Kieran Powell 139, Devon Thomas 50; Jalaj Saxena 3 for 55, Shami Ahmed 3 for 75) by 75 runs