India A register 18-run victory over South Africa A by D/L method

Parvez Rasool and Shahbaz Nadeem picked up two wickets each in India A’s victory over South Africa A © AFP (File Photo)

Aug 9, 2013

A good allround performance helped India A to beat South Africa A by 18 runs in Pretoria.

Through half-centuries from four Indian batsmen, the visitors posted 309 for five from 38 overs. South Africa A openers Rilee Rossouw and Reeza Hendricks were off to a good start before twin strikes by Parvez Rasool in a span of three deliveries sent both of them back to the pavilion.

The next two batters Dean Elgar and Vaughn van Jaarsveld added 149 runs in the next 21 overs to keep the hosts in the chase. Spinner Shabaz Nadeem got India A the much needed breakthrough by dismissing van Jaarsveld in the 32nd over. A wicket each fell in the next two overs to dent the home side’s chances. At this stage, the home side was on 251 for five in the 34th over. India were adjudged winners in the next over by D/L method by 18 runs.

Earlier, India A scored 309 for five in the third match of the tri-series against South Africa A at Pretoria on Friday.

Late order surge by Suresh Raina (60 off 34 balls) and Ambati Rayudu (57 off 38 balls) helped India to reach the total in excess of 300 in 38-over game. Shikhar Dhawan (85 off 67 balls) and Rohit Sharma’s run-a-ball 65 helped India set up a solid foundation.

The highlight of the innings was a blistering start by India A openers who stitched together an alliance of 140. Dhawan  and Rohit prospered against South Africa A who chose to bowl first after winning the toss.

Brief scores:

India A 309 for 5 in 38 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 85, Rohit Sharma 65, Suresh Raina 60, Ambati Rayudu 57; Justin Ontong 2 for 27) bear South Africa A 258 for 5 in 34.4 overs (Dean Elgar 84, Vaughn van Jaarsveld 69) by 18 runs by D/L method.